What is courage? What defines a courageous act? It is said that the brave and cowardly person are both fearful. However, it is the brave one who faces his fear and does what needs to be done. We will be faced with many things that scare us throughout our lives. How can we become the kind of people that face our fear and do it anyway? Human growth takes place when we take small steps. Each time we face our fears we become more of the courageous person that we would like to be.

For today’s post I am going to switch it up a bit. As many of you can already tell I have a tad bit of an obsession with quotes and poetry, therefore my take on today’s challenge will still be on the  same topic bravery but in the form of poems and quotations. So, I hope you enjoy this as much as I enjoyed putting this together for you…

Quotes:  ***

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.”
― Winston S. Churchill

“Bran thought about it. ‘Can a man still be brave if he’s afraid?’
‘That is the only time a man can be brave,’ his father told him.”
― George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

“A brave man acknowledges the strength of others.”
― Veronica Roth, Divergent

“Fear cuts deeper than swords.”
― George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

“Don’t be afraid of your fears. They’re not there to scare you. They’re there to let you know that something is worth it.”
― C. JoyBell C.

“you can, you should, and if you’re brave enough to start, you will.”
― Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

“Expose yourself to your deepest fear; after that, fear has no power, and the fear of freedom shrinks and vanishes. You are free.”
― Jim Morrison

“Scared is what you’re feeling. Brave is what you’re doing.”
― Emma Donoghue, Room

“There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.

But sometimes it doesn’t.

Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life.

That is the sort of bravery I must have now.”
― Veronica Roth, Allegiant

Poems: ***

The bravest men are those who can still carry on.

They wanted to create,  A man,  Of bravery.  So they built one who could not feel.

Yet the bravest men, I have even known, Are those who have felt, Everything, And can still carry on.

*

Heart over matter.

When your heart suddenly feels
light, excited, at ease.
When you feel like your heart just knows what to do
and your worries are far from your mind as are you.

You know that your mind will start chasing,
racing to hold down your heart.
After all, it is there to protect it,
ever from breaking apart.

But in order to keep your heart happy,
like a child, you must soften your hold.
You must let it run free for a while,
follow and see what unfolds.

Your heart is stronger than what you would think,
and recovers at much greater speed,
so please just try, every once in a while,
to give it the freedom it needs.

Believe in your heart and embrace it,
and give it all that you’ve got.
Because whether it turns for the best or the worse,
you’ll be happy more often than not.

*

Two steps away.

I know that she’s here.
She knows that I’m here.
And I know that she knows I’m here.
And she knows that I know she’s here.
And I know that she knows that I know she’s here.
And she knows that I know that she knows I’m here.
We both know that we’re both here.
Only two steps of broken trust still unclear…
A thick wall of heartbreak separates us,
A hurtful memory with each brick between us…

I know we’re over.
She knows we’re over.
And I know that she knows we’re over.
And she knows that I know we’re over.
And I know that she knows that I know we’re over.
And she knows that I know that she knows we’re over.
We both know that it’s all over.
Two steps of courage and bravery,
Could make everything alright.
But we stay locked in chains of slavery…

I know.
She knows.
And I know that she knows.
And she knows that I know.
And I know that she knows that I know.
And she knows that I know that she knows.
And even though,
We both know,
It’s never going to be the same.
It’s all going to be two steps away…

***

Hope you enjoyed comment what you think. Dont forget to like, comment, share and follow!

– With love always. ♥

~Luna xoxo ♥

